Kansas DMV

Kansas DMV hours, appointments, locations, phone numbers, holidays, and services. Find the Kansas DMV office near me.

DMV Locations by County

Allen County Anderson County Atchison County Barber County Barton County Bourbon County Brown County Butler County Chase County Chautauqua County Cherokee County Cheyenne County Clark County Clay County Cloud County Coffey County Comanche County Cowley County Crawford County Decatur County Dickinson County Doniphan County Douglas County Edwards County Elk County Ellis County Ellsworth County Finney County Ford County Franklin County Geary County Gove County Graham County Grant County Gray County Greeley County Greenwood County Hamilton County Harper County Harvey County Haskell County Hodgeman County Jackson County Jefferson County Jewell County Johnson County Kearny County Kingman County Kiowa County Labette County Lane County Leavenworth County Lincoln County Linn County Logan County Lyon County Marion County Marshall County McPherson County Meade County Miami County Mitchell County Montgomery County Morris County Morton County Nemaha County Neosho County Ness County Norton County Osage County Osborne County Ottawa County Pawnee County Phillips County Pottawatomie County Pratt County Rawlins County Reno County Republic County Rice County Riley County Rooks County Rush County Russell County Saline County Scott County Sedgwick County Seward County Shawnee County Sheridan County Sherman County Smith County Stafford County Stanton County Stevens County Sumner County Thomas County Trego County Wabaunsee County Wallace County Washington County Wichita County Wilson County Woodson County Wyandotte County

About DMV Locations

In Kansas, the Division of Vehicles is part of the Kansas Department of Revenue. The Division of Vehicles is responsible for issuing identification cards and driver's licenses, including licenses for commercial vehicles, motorcycles, and dealers. The department manages vehicle services, such as registration, titling, and liens, as well as all forms, records, and documentation related to vehicles and licensing. The Division of Vehicles is also responsible for medical and vision reviews.

Motor vehicle services such as titling and registration are handled through your local county treasurer's office. The services and hours of operations vary by county, so check with the local office before you visit. Proof of insurance is required for registration, and fees vary by county. To apply for a title, you must visit your county treasurer's office in person within 60 days of the purchase. Any property taxes owed must be paid when you apply for a title.

To obtain a driver's license or identification card, residents of Kansas should visit their local county office. In some larger cities like Topeka, the state offers a service called Q-Flow that allows people to check in online. Applicants are still required to visit the physical site, but instead of waiting at the office, they will receive a text on their mobile phone shortly before their number is called. Applicants must bring a valid form of identification, show proof of residency, and pay a fee.

Drivers between the ages of 14 and 17 can apply for a graduated driver license (GDL). In addition to the standard GDL, Kansas also allows teens to apply for a farm permit, which allows them to drive to and from a farm job and school. Each of these licenses has restrictions until the age of 17.